School of the Arts

Founded in 2015, the School of the Arts is one of three within the College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media. Comprised of Art & Art History, Theatre, and the Writer’s Workshop, the school fosters probing inquiry of the world and develops in the scholar-artist powers of observation, creativity, reflection, and critical analysis.

Located in the award-winning Weber Fine Arts Building, completed in 1992 and designed to be an "inhabited sculpture on campus,” the school’s facilities include the UNO Art Gallery, dedicated studio spaces for art-making, acting, directing, theatrical design and construction, a Black Box Theatre, computer labs, traditional lecture and seminar rooms, and informal gathering spaces.

Enriched by the cultural diversity of our metropolitan home, the School of the Arts’ 44 faculty members are dedicated to helping students understand the relationship between the arts and our communities’ well-being, seeing expression as a means to connect diverse ideas and people.